Chase Elliott wins Pocono after Hamlin, Busch DQ'ed

By Holly Cain-NASCAR Wire Service
Chase Elliott was declared the winner of Sunday's NASCAR Cup Series race at Pocono
Raceway after first and second place finishers,
Joe Gibbs Racing teammates Denny Hamlin and
Kyle Busch were disqualified following postrace technical inspection.

It's a series-best fourth race victory for the Dawsonville, Georgia racer, who now leads the championship standings by 105-points over Ross Chastain and 111-points over Ryan Blaney.

"I don't know that I learned much of anything today, but just got fortunate there with the way the restarts and stuff went," said Elliott prior to the disqualification of the top two finishers. "I think we have room for improvement. We'll go onto next week, try to build and be a little bit better."

It is the first time this season a race winner has been disqualified.

"Yeah, unfortunately we were doing our postrace inspections, which we do," said NASCAR Cup Series managing director Brad Moran. "There were some issues discovered that affect aero of the vehicle. The part was the front fascia. There really was no reason why there was some material that was somewhere it shouldn't have been, and that does basically come down to a DQ. It is a penalty, both for the 11 of Denny Hamlin and the 18 of Kyle Busch have been DQed. Their vehicles are being loaded in the



Chase Elliott drives during Sunday's NASCAR Cup Series race at Pocono Raceway.

Photo: Tim Nwachukwu/Getty Images

NASCAR hauler and they're going to go back to the R&D Center."

Hamlin won the pole position, led 21 laps, and ultimately crossed the finish line .927-second ahead of Busch for the apparent win in an action-packed afternoon at the 2.5-mile Pocono track.

But both of the JGR cars failed post-pace inspection leaving the victory to Elliott, who now has three wins and a pair of second-place finishes in the last five races.

The updated finishing order of the race includes a runner-up showing now for Tyler Reddick, with Daniel Suarez third, Christopher Bell fourth, and Kyle Larson in fifth.

Michael McDowell, Martin Truex, Jr., Bubba Wallace, Erik Jones, and Austin Dillon rounded out the top 10.

CONTINUED ON PG 9



